Home / Events / Debussy and Brahms
Back to Home

Debussy and Brahms

Wang Chamber Music Series

Daniels Pavilion

Naples Philharmonic
Oct 19, 3:00pm
Call the Box Office


Debussy and Brahms

Wang Chamber Music Series
Mid-19th and 20th Century Chamber Music

   Bacewicz — Quartet for Four Violins
   Debussy — Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp
   Brahms — Sextet No. 2 in G Major

Works from two lions of classical composition and a piece from a relative unknown mark the program for the first Wang Chamber Concert performance of the season. Debussy’s melancholy Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp was a major influence on the “neo-classicism” movement and represented the despair he felt over World War I and his impending death.

Brahms’ darkly beautiful Sextet No. 2 in G Major showcases an artist at peak powers, so clever he could embed a hidden melody that spells out the name of a lover. It remains one of the best-loved chamber works in the repertoire. Twentieth century composer Grazyna Bacewicz’s Quartet for Four Violins, originally written as a teaching piece in the late 1940s, has gone on to become her most famous work, offering up clear and concise classic musical lines.

Sponsored by a generous gift from David & Cecile Wang. Part of the Wang Chamber Music series.


Enrich your experience of the arts by joining Friends of Artis—Naples and/or Leadership Circle. You’ll enjoy private previews of new exhibitions, invitations to exclusive social events, discounts and more.

More Info


Artis—Naples is Southwest Florida’s leading cultural resource thanks to the generous financial support of loyal donors. Help us continue providing art and educational opportunities to all ages.

More Info


Whether you’re enjoying our entire campus for free during Community Days, making new friends in a Lifelong Learning class or attending an off-campus music performance, we hope to see you soon.

More Info